Review of GET1032 – Building Relationships: Theories and Practice

For other reviewed modules, check here.

(Alternate title: GET1032 – Theories of interpersonal interaction. Also giggles when discussing BGR)

Introduction

After watching Oregairu, playing Katawa Shoujo and having some stuff happen in life, I became a lot more interested in understanding how relationships formed between individuals and what existing theories about them were. On a spiritual level, I see a future where I might be able to offer young couples some advice on navigating relationships (from what limited, little experience I have had) – not that my church has many of these young couples anyway.

On a practical and slightly hopeful level, I wanted to take this module so that I would better understand the pitfalls and the ‘don’t do’s’ if or when I am in a romantic relationship in the future. Not that it’ll make me a better person, but hopefully I won’t bring someone else down with me due to stupid, avoidable mistakes. And also in hopes that it’ll help in building each other up when the time comes ^^

Anyway, I’m getting sidetracked here. Those two reasons were the impetus for me to take this module, and I went into it quite interested. Also because it was taught by the Social Work department and social work has an imba girl:guy ratio, I was interested to see what one of their modules was like. Arguably the idea of BGR was at the back of most of my tutorial mate’s minds when they took this module, so it brought some giggles when it was discussed.

What I expected

Theories and practice…I had hoped for some roleplaying to practice the theories that would probably be taught, and as I was hoping to learn more about concrete theories around BGR/romantic relationships, I expected to see more of that in the course.

What I got

A pretty holistic range of relationships and some theories about how they formed, what they consisted of and how they could deteriorate or grow. Friendships, romantic relationships, familial (family) relationships and work relationships were all taught, and there were ample opportunities to roleplay (out of five tutorials, three to four of them consisted of roleplays). Did not expect the formal (but easy) debates that took place at the start of each tutorial session though – they’re less of trashing your opponent’s arguments and more of helping the tutor by letting the students develop two sides of the argument before the tutor synthesizes both sides to give a theory more depth.

[Webcasted?] Yep.

[Course Materials?] A few textbooks are recommended, check the slide titled GET1032 (2016) Course References for more details.

Assessment & Workload

One is assessed as follows:

  1. Tutorials: 30%. Usually involved a debate over two issues (3 speakers per side, 3 minutes per speaker) and your usual participation. Nothing too rigorous so it’s quite manageable. Also a bit of breaking up into smaller group to share one’s thoughts and later someone presents what was discussed so just contribute sufficiently and be careful not to dominate the discussion. Also prepare for your debate well and you’ll find it easy to come up with logical arguments and examples to make your point 🙂
  2. Midterm Test: 30%. Consisting of about…60 MCQs, it’s tricky at times even for someone that studied the textbook. It draws from the wide range of materials offered like supplementary (which are actually mandatory) PDF readings to introduce concepts that one may only see for the first time in the midterms, so..yea. Do your readings and skim through (but don’t skip) the PDF readings.
  3. Finals: 40%. Consists of two to three case studies where one needs to assess a given situation and recommend a course of action based on what they have studied along with 60 MCQs. One thing to note is that some MCQs are repeated from the midterms (usually the more difficult questions), so it might help if you’re fairly confident you got those questions correct. The case studies…here was the summary given after the Profs had marked it:
    1. Students performed well for the MCQs – above average.
    2. Case studies require theoretical and applied perspectives.
    3. Innovative AND acceptable solutions for addictive/ill behaviours required.
    4. Don’t give basic interpersonal solutions.
    5. Empathetic responses are the way to go.
    6. Look at cultural situations of cases.
    7. Lack of precise application of general theories to specific cases.
    8. More analytical analysis required.
    9. Allocate sufficient time to answer case questions – don’t leave them blank or under-answered.

Workload is about light to moderately light – not much to do aside from light readings and occasional tutorial prep. I’d say an hour a week or 1.5 hours over two weeks should be enough to do decently in this.

Expected Grade

I got an A- for my midterms (somewhat unsurprisingly) and expected a minimum of a B+ for my class participation, so I was looking at a grade between an A- or B+ if I did decently for my finals.

Actual Grade

I got an A, yay. My first full A for a GE mod – I think this came because well, some people didn’t write enough for the finals. As the summary mentioned above, many excelled in the MCQs so what really distinguished the As from the A-‘s were probably the class participation, midterms and case studies. I feel somewhat sorry for those that were denied said A though, since I’m sure they worked hard too ><

Conclusion & Tips

This is certainly an interesting mod to take for anyone interested in human relationships (or are hoping to talk to girls in their tutorial groups, there’s quite a large portion of them in this mod when I took it anyway. Arts + it being a popular mod, just expect most of them to be in relationships alr xD), and with a light workload to boot, I’d heartily recommend it for most people looking to get an easy B+. Might be quite difficult to get an A though, so student beware.

  1. I have a confession to make – I skipped all the lectures after the second lecture because it was a 4-6pm Friday evening lecture and I felt at times that what was being taught was just off the slides instead of being vastly different or innovative. So I went home and generally browsed through the slides to make my notes, watching the webcasted lectures if I wasn’t sure about a point. Might not have been the best idea, but it saved me some time to do other work/rest more, so one could consider it.
  2. Prepare for your debate, just put out good points and don’t worry too much about demolishing your opponent. Be nice in the debate and it should help 🙂
  3. Do get a textbook or borrow one if you don’t want to buy it, it helps quite a lot when studying for the midterms and finals~

Click here for a preview of the material I went through!

 

One thought on “Review of GET1032 – Building Relationships: Theories and Practice

  1. Pingback: All module reviews up, an upcoming year and another milestone | Ramblings of Roe

Leave a Reply

