SMUN 2016

At long last, the compilation video I had imagined has been completed. It looks quite nice if I do say so myself, perhaps if I learned AfterEffects it would look better.

Almost one week ago (down to the hour), SMUN 2016 ended. I had planned on it being my second and last MUN, with my first MUN being SMUN 2015 where I attended as a delegate within the UNHCR Council. After finding it quite fun, I made a compilation video of my Council and how MUNs generally went (macro, not micro, view).

And so this year (or was it late last year, I can’t remember), when signups opened for chairing positions, I decided that it was enough fun being a delegate and applied for a chair position. I was posted to be the Backroom Staff for the Joint Crisis Committee and it was a pretty busy period leading up to the conference itself. Having a big boss that went MIA for 2 months and later pulled out left us with little time to prepare a good committee, and I probably didn’t help by playing a lot of CS:GO after finals were over about a month back.

Somehow, we pulled through and made the Crisis functional, if not excellent. There were moments of joy and euphoria that were also tempered by tense and surprising plot twists, which no doubt were due to the delegates sticking with us through two sleepless nights. We did get some sleep, but I’m not one that’s used to leaving school at 11.30pm.

Regardless, I think I learned a lot from the MUN experience and made a friend or two. Helping to clean up the venue after socials was over, though it would have been quite easy to disappear and make my way home, taught me about something from Raildex that I had been reading shortly before MUN started:

Pages 153 and 154, Volume 5 of Raildex’s Light Novel:

“But that’s still no reason not to save this brat, right? Does it mean that we can trample on what this brat has just because we’re scum!?”

With his vision bloodied, Accelerator shouted.

He knew that it was hypocritical of himself, and how thick-skinned it was. Every word he had said could be used right back at him.

But he still shouted.

Did it mean that those without the right to save shouldn’t save others?

Should the hand of a girl that was extended out be scoffed away?

What did the girl do?

What did she do to be rejected just like that?

“Damn it, isn’t… that simple?”

He seemingly muttered that to himself.

Last Order had to be saved. Unlike Accelerator and Amai, she still had a chance to be saved.

It didn’t matter who saved her.

That wasn’t the problem. Someone had to give a helping hand to her, no matter who it was, or she would really die. It was just that simple.

Accelerator could roughly understand it. He could roughly understand the Level 0’s feelings when he had gone in to stop that experiment. No reason, no aim, he just stepped up to save the injured Sisters. On first glance, that person seemed to be a natural hero, one who lived in a world different from him, but this wasn’t the case.

There was no such thing as a lead character in this world, there weren’t those heroes who were conveniently available for use. Nobody could get help by shutting their mouths, and they may not get help even if they asked for it.

But if one didn’t want to lose something important, not because of such a laughable reason like “nobody helped even after we waited for so long”, that person had to be the hero.

No matter how forced that was, how overconfident and how shameless he was…

He had to use his own hands to protect the things most precious to him.

The world was merciless; there weren’t naturally born heroes.

So the bystanders had to step up.

They had to put up a performance worthy of a hero.

“That’s right, I killed over ten thousand of the Sisters, but this doesn’t mean that I should just leave the remaining ten thousand to die! I know that these words are hypocritical, I know that I have no right to say such words, but no matter how much of a scumbag we are, no matter how many excuses we put forward, that can’t be the reasons to kill this brat!!”

Accelerator’s legs buckled.

The blood continued to ooze out of his wound.

But he couldn’t collapse now.

Definitely not.

Dramatic effect aside, I learned from that experience how simple it was to help out. One doesn’t need to have a grand reason to do something, just the goal. And with regards to helping out, it also didn’t matter who helped out. Just that if one wanted to do so, they should just go ahead and do so. And I’m glad I did, for the shirt that I got was given to a friend that would’ve made better use of it than me, and the chocolates given the next day were given to the helper for our committee on the last day. The lesson learned is more valuable than rewards given for work. Maybe it’s something like the saying ‘Hard work is its own reward.’

In any case, I mentioned earlier that it would be my last MUN, and this was something which I kept up during the conference, for I did think that it would be my last MUN, and that I’ll start looking for an internship next summer. At least something that would look better on one’s resume compared to just chairing (which wasn’t something I did, I was in the backroom being a physical computer trying to process directive after directive and update the Crisis Director on whether two directives would conflict with each other) at a MUN. On the other hand, I guess if one goes into the Secretariat and helps out in organization, it could be valued by an employer as well.

Time will tell whether I’ll be involved in SMUN 2017 as a Chair or as part of the Secretariat, of course. There’s still a long way to go before that happens…two semesters. Much can happen in a single academic year.

But for now, I’ll write a thank you note to my colleagues for SMUN 2016 and lay down my pen.

To the Crisis Director and Crisis Chairs: Thanks for putting things in place and making things happen. Being in the backroom, I’ve got no idea how difficult it was to manage a council aside from the secondhand accounts provided, but it sure doesn’t sound easy. It was a long route to the Crisis being completed, and I should’ve done more work at times than I did, or spent more time typing out what ideas were given. Regardless, y’all kept things going and that helped me immensely. I can’t tell if I’ll be working with some or all of y’all in the future, but given more time to prepare and the same team, I wouldn’t mind doing the Crisis all over again. Also, to the Honourary Crisis Member, thanks for turning shit maps into pretty nice maps 🙂

To the Crisis Delegates: I really, really wanted to talk more with you guys (and girls), especially during the social night. Unfortunately I was manning the backroom (which, at times looked like an ops room as shown in the photo below)

and due to the constraints of my role, was unable to interact more freely with y’all aside from occasional chats here and there. I don’t view myself as a Chair since I’ve got no Chairing experience, and so I tried to talk to y’all as if I was a delegate. Part of the appeal of MUN is, after all, meeting new people, and being at the back, it’s natural that y’all would be closer to one another and your respective Council chairs compared to the random guy that ran like a headless chicken and gave updates when shit had already splattered.

But well, y’all stuck with us through thick and thin, of which I’m deeply appreciative. It did feel like our work we put in on the first night wasn’t a waste, because both sides fought hard and also made amusing mistakes. One wouldn’t expect to see those two clauses in the same sentence, but that’s just how things happened (www).

In any case, as you’ve read above, I may or may not continue being in the MUN circuit, but if I am and y’all come for next year’s SMUN, do drop me a text or something to say hi 🙂

To the Secretariat: Shit happens. Looking through the photos when I was making the video, everyone was smiles on the first couple of days, and for good reason too. Though there was a slight dip in the mood later on at one point, I think the saying ‘It takes a big man to say sorry’ is about right. As a certain crazy running girl mentioned, ‘Sometimes these things happen.’ I think the way you guys handled the situation was apt, and what’s past is past. If one’s involved in the running of a future conference, then maybe just make a mental note and avoid letting the same scenario develop.

That aside, things worked, and I’m glad y’all kept at it. Out of all three groups, y’all probably slept the latest and started work the earliest (months ahead of the conference) in recruitment, interviews, liaisons, bookings and all. Aside from working the hardest, y’all also didn’t get to interact with the delegates much aside from Chair feedback sessions, which admittedly is a pity but inevitably occurs due to your busy schedules. Still, I think your would be glad to look at the video of how things went and reflect (deservedly) on a job well done.

To Chairs of other Councils: Y’all probably won’t know me aside from being the guy that brought the toy katana and sniper rifle from my old cosplay days for our Council (which we had great fun in the backroom with :D), but that’s fine. I’ve gotten the opportunity to chat with a few of y’all on the last day…some were also my fellow delegates from SMUN 2015 who have taken up the challenge of chairing Councils as well. You guys seem pretty cool during the Chair Debrief sessions held, and I look forward to working with y’all in the future if I’m still in the MUN circuit~

Now then, as I’ve completed my thoughts on this event, I’ll, in the style of Wataru Watari, be laying down my pen (keyboard?) here.

On a certain day of June, unfortunately being unable to go for the catchup session,

Concord(iamque)003 – “My last MUN, as MUNs are: Polite and cordial.

Aka

Roe.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “SMUN 2016

  1. Pingback: Reflections of VCF FOC 2016: Light Source | Ramblings of Roe

Leave a Reply

