It’s finally done!

Muahaha.

Had been working on that article for some time but never got around to finishing it after I’ve started. Finally decided to throw a couple of hours at it today and it looks quite nice. Essentially each article/essay is a collection of links rather than having cited works there. I wouldn’t mind using footnotes but I’m not running WordPress off my own server so I can’t use plugins unless I pay more dosh.

That said, this is pretty much a place for me to post random stuff. Like what Shion posted in his Useless Opinions post, it’s his blog so he posts whatever he wants there even if nobody reads. Although he has written quite some interesting reviews regarding Foreground Eclipse (which I’m sure a lot of FE fans would’ve read). Viewed in that light, my article on Foreground Eclipse is a tribute of sorts to them ^^.

The original idea for the Foreground Eclipse essay came from the magazine article that I had found somewhere….where precisely I’m not sure. It was a long time ago, but I saved that article down since I knew I wanted to know what was written there. A few years after futile efforts to translate it with what little Japanese I knew, I had made a close friend and was able to ask her for assistance.Over a few messages, she translated it quite accurately, such that if you check the original  unedited translation by her here, it’s a really good job.

That translation gave me new insight as to why Foreground Eclipse had disbanded, or rather the circumstances surrounding the disbandment which may or may not be related to the actual event. But I couldn’t find somewhere to discuss it as no forums existed for FE fans, so I gathered what…knowledge I had…gathered over the years as an overseas fan of them and smacked something together. The result you have is something that is a poor excuse for an academic paper, poorly researched and severely lacking in written flair. One might even call it a link-heavy post strung together by bits and pieces of words.

But it’s a start, I suppose. I used pretty much all the links and bits of information in an attempt to provide a brief introduction to the band. Much more could be written of the lyrical significance or their musical style, but those topics aren’t my forte as I’ve not studied Japanese to any meaningful level nor do I listen to a wide variety of songs that I can compare FE’s songs against. So that essay is pretty much the maximum I could do for this topic.

One thing completed, though. That’s good~

Leave a Reply

